Sales and Marketing Lessons Learned from Gamil-Dot-Com

Readers, I need your help. Business-wise, there is one problem I have struggled with for some time. As readers of this article and potential clients, maybe you can provide clarity. Your advice helps, no matter how insignificant you might think it is. So thanks for your time, participation and contribution.

The Problem

I have read many business startup books and articles. Among many things they say one has to do to officially be in business, these are some common preliminaries:

  1. Choose something you are passionate about. [Check]
  2. Choose something you already know how to do well or something you wouldn’t mind investing time to learn. [Check]
  3. Choose to do one thing and one thing alone as a business. [Huh?]


I am passionate about many things that, I dare say, I happen to do well. For example, in any given month I can solve one or more computer crises; help a business set up and break down a booth at a fair; launder cloth diapers; do online research for a client; help clients with marketing campaigns via social media; build custom enterprise servers from scratch; and deliver kosher food.

Having to choose to do one thing and one thing alone has made marketing ‘nycework‘ a stumbling block from day one…until I stumbled upon Gamil.

How I Found Gamil

Shortly after I launched ‘nycework the blog,’ a strange thing kept happening most times I tried logging into Gmail. Instead of typing g-m-a-i-l, I would end up typing g-a-m-i-l. That is, instead of typing gmail.com, I would type gamil.com. Having noticed the typo, I never pressed ‘enter.’ I simply corrected the misspelling and proceeded to Gmail. After several days of mistyping ‘gmail’ and the frustration that went along with it, a thought finally occurred to me: Is the domain gamil-dot-com taken?

The mistype was already staring back at me onscreen, g-a-m-i-l-.-c-o-m. So I hit ‘enter.’ That is when I made a life-changing discovery. Quoting gamil.com’s own words:

A few years ago, we noticed a remarkable amount of new traffic. After doing a bit of research, we realized lots and lots of Gmail users were getting ahead of themselves when typing and ending up visiting us instead of their email account. So we started a blog to say ‘Hi!’

Apparently, gamil.com was getting a lot of serendipitous traffic that was not intended for them so they did something smart. They turned a ‘mistake’ into an opportunity to do some marketing. The icing on the cake is that they also added a link back to Gmail for many typists like myself who inadvertently lose our way.

What I Have Learned from Gamil Design

The people at gamil.com: (a) noticed a pattern; (b) studied it to discover its cause; then (c) formulated a strategy that was beneficial to Gamil Design and the ‘problematic’ typist like me.

  • They noticed a pattern that disagreed with their experience (too much traffic).
  • They set about to study and discover the cause of the pattern (people mistyping ‘gmail’).
  • Knowing the cause of the problem, they create the perfect solution (build a blog to harness the excess traffic and send uninterested parties on to Gmail).
As a courtesy to users who mistype 'gmail' as 'gamil,' gamil.com redirects user to gmail.com with some links.

As a courtesy to users who mistype 'gmail' as 'gamil,' gamil.com redirects users to gmail.com with some links.

Now Gamil Design has several daily opportunities to market their business, products and services.
For ‘mistypists’ like myself who end up at gamil.com’s blog, Gamil graciously sends us on our merry way to Gmail regardless of whether we decide to stick around awhile. Classy.

Applying What I Have Learned from Gamil Design

  • I have a good and varied skill set but have difficulty expressing it clearly when marketing (pattern/problem).
  • Although conventional wisdom says it is better to focus on just one central business theme, business comes to me in various forms and from different venues (discovery).
  • I am in the process of redesigning this blog to showcase my varied skill set in a coherent way. For visitors who decide that the services I offer are not for them, I hope the accumulated resources on the site (over time) may prove beneficial in some way (strategy/solution).

Now It’s Your TurN

Your thoughts, please…and, thank you.

4 responses to “Sales and Marketing Lessons Learned from Gamil-Dot-Com

  1. I’m usually to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and hold checking for brand spanking new information.

  2. Thanks for your vote of confidence.

    I am new to blogging and social media (started late summer 2011). So your feedback is encouraging and appreciated.

    Is there a subject or topic you would like to see appear on the site?

  3. I’m very pleased to have found this website. Definitely enjoyed reading and I have bookmarked to check out new stuff that you post.

    • Thanks 🙂

      I visited your site, ‘How Many Calories Are In…?’ [http://how-many-calories-are-in.com/]. Nice work 😉

      How do you decide what to post?
      Where do you get the info?
      Most importantly, what inspired you to create the site?

Leave a Reply

